Users are people who can sign into the Tracker. Employees are people you want to track in the system, for example, you want to assign items to them. An employee can be a user but doesn't have to be. And a user can be listed as an employee but doesn't have to be.

When you license Tracker 8, you specify the number of editing and view-only users you want. This doesn't limit the number of users you can add to the system (you can add as many as you like). Rather, it limits the number of editing and view-only users who can sign into the application at the same time.

  • Editing users can add and change data. Warehouse personnel are, typically, editing users.
  • View-only users can look at data but can't change it (except: they can order items). Field personnel are, typically, view-only users, as are office personnel who run Tracker 8 reports but don't add or edit data.

When a user signs in, the Tracker checks (1) the user's type (editing or view-only) (2) how many users of that type are licensed and (3) how many of that type are already signed in. If the licensed quantity has been reached, the new user isn't allowed into the application.

Train your users to sign out of Tracker 8 when not using it.

A user with editing rights can only sign in as an editing user. A user with view-only rights can only sign in as a view-only user.

You can give users who sometimes need to edit and sometimes only need to view data 2 accounts, one of each type.

Organization managers are editing users (an organization can have more than 1) with special, organization-wide capabilities. Among other things, they can add users and assign them to user groups.

Users can be assigned more fine-grained capabilities with user groups (listed and defined in User groups). User groups are also used to control access to Tracker 8's optional modules. You won't be offered the user groups associated with modules you haven't licensed.

ADD, EDIT AND DELETE USERS

  • Click the Utilities icon in the main menu then Users.
  • Follow the instructions in the Add, Edit and Delete section of the help overview to add, edit and delete users.
  • Add the user groups you want to assign to the new user in the User groups subgrid.

Field users are generally assigned to the 'Find' and/or 'Order' groups ('Find' allows them to look items up, 'Order' allows them to order items) but not the 'View' group (which allows them to look at but not edit jobs, items, etc.). The 'View' group is generally assigned to office personnel. All are considered view-only users.

Users in one of the ADD AND EDIT or DELETE groups are editing users. Only editing users can add and edit views, sorts, searches and reports.


DUPLICATE AN EXISTING USER

Duplicating an existing user with the same (or almost the same) user groups is faster than entering a new user from scratch.

  • Click the Utilities icon in the main menu then Users.
  • Select the user you want to duplicate.
  • Click the Tools icon in the main grid menu, Macros then Copy user and groups.
  • Replace the new user's LOGIN and EMAIL. Optionally add a FIRST NAME and LAST NAME and edit the new user's groups.

EMAIL A TEMPORARY PASSWORD TO A NEW USER

  • Click the Utilities icon in the main menu then Users.
  • Select the user you want to email.
  • Click the Tools icon in the main grid menu, Macros then Email temporary password to send the new user an email with sign in instructions and a temporary password.

RESET A USER'S PASSWORD

Users can reset their own passwords with the Change password option in the main Utilities menu or by clicking Forgot your password? in the Sign in screen. But, if necessary, an organization manager can reset a user's password.

  • Click the Utilities icon in the main menu then Users.
  • Select the user you want to email.
  • Click the Tools icon in the main grid menu, Macros then Reset temporary password.
  • Click the Tools icon in the main grid menu, Macros then Email temporary password to send the new user an email with sign in instructions and a temporary password.

FIELDS

Users screen

  • (Users grid) FIRST NAME and LAST NAME are optional.
  • (Users grid) LOGIN (the sign in id) and EMAIL are required.
  • (Users grid) LAST LOGIN, IN SESSION (checked if the user is currently signed in) and TEMP PASSWORD are managed by the system.

  • (User Groups grid) GROUP. Available groups are listed and defined in User groups.
  • (User Groups grid) PRIORITY. A view-only user's groups are all priority 399 or less. An editing user has 1 or more groups with priority 400 or greater.

MACROS

  • (Users grid) EMAIL TEMPORARY PASSWORD. Email a temporary password to the selected user.
  • (Users grid) RESET TEMPORARY PASSWORD.
  • (Users grid) COPY USER AND GROUPS. Duplicates an existing user.